svrn

Retirement visas · France

France retirement visa.

See the income you need, the age rule, the days you must spend there and the path to permanent residence. Last checked 11 Oct 2026.

Visitor residence card (carte de séjour temporaire visiteur)

The official name in English

Income needed
EUR 1,477.93 a monthAfter tax for one person, over a full year (EUR 17,735.19 a year). Pensions, rent and other income count, and so can support from a family member. About USD 1,660 a month at ECB rates on 9 Oct 2026.
Or savings
EUR 17,735.19Bank statements showing EUR 17,735.19 for the year can be used as proof of your means.
Minimum age
No minimumThe official page sets no age limit.
First permit
12 monthsThe card lasts 1 year. You first come to France on a long-stay visa.
Renewal
Yes, each year if you still meet the conditions.
Health insurance
RequiredHealth insurance that covers your whole stay.
Work
Not allowedYou may not work in France in any form, as an employee or self-employed.
Minimum stay
Not publishedThe official page does not state how long you must stay in France each year.
Permanent residence
After 5 yearsOf legal residence, including time on the visitor card, you can apply for the 10-year long-term EU resident card. You need income of at least the minimum wage, French at level B1 and a civic exam, but the language and exam rules do not apply over age 65.
Cost
EUR 350For the card (a EUR 300 tax and a EUR 50 stamp duty), and EUR 250 to renew it. The long-stay visa has its own fee.
Processing time
If the prefecture does not answer within 4 months, the application counts as refused.
Where to apply
Get a long-stay visitor visa at a French consulate first. In France, apply online (ANEF) for the card, 2 to 4 months before your visa or card ends.

Checked 11 Oct 2026

What you need

What you need to show.

The official page asks for these, as well as the money.

Who can apply

Who can apply.

Open to people from outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland.

Other countries

More retirement visas.

38 more countries in our list, with the income each one asks for.

Compare them all in one table

FAQ

Common questions.

How much income do I need for the France retirement visa?

At least EUR 1,477.93 a month after tax for one person, over a full year (EUR 17,735.19 a year). Pensions, rent and other income count, and so can support from a family member. Bank statements showing EUR 17,735.19 for the year can be used as proof of your means.

Is there an age limit for the France retirement visa?

The official page sets no age limit.

What do I need for the France retirement visa?

The official page asks for: proof of income, health insurance, signed statement that you will not work, proof of address less than 6 months old, medical certificate from OFII and signed commitment to respect the principles of the Republic.

Do I need health insurance?

Health insurance that covers your whole stay.

Can I work on the France retirement visa?

You may not work in France in any form, as an employee or self-employed.

How long do I need to spend in France?

The official page does not state how long you must stay in France each year.

Does the France retirement visa lead to permanent residence?

After 5 years of legal residence, including time on the visitor card, you can apply for the 10-year long-term EU resident card. You need income of at least the minimum wage, French at level B1 and a civic exam, but the language and exam rules do not apply over age 65.

How long does the France retirement visa last?

The card lasts 1 year. You first come to France on a long-stay visa. Yes, each year if you still meet the conditions.

How much does the France retirement visa cost?

EUR 350 for the card (a EUR 300 tax and a EUR 50 stamp duty), and EUR 250 to renew it. The long-stay visa has its own fee.

Who can apply for the France retirement visa?

Open to people from outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland. People who want to live in France for more than 3 months without working, on their own income.

How do I apply?

Get a long-stay visitor visa at a French consulate first. In France, apply online (ANEF) for the card, 2 to 4 months before your visa or card ends. If the prefecture does not answer within 4 months, the application counts as refused.

Sources

General information, not legal advice. Last checked 11 Oct 2026.

Coming soon

Get the full plan to live anywhere.

SVRN shows you every step to live abroad, in order. Earn online, open banks, set up a company, get residency and a second passport.

Join waitlist